DÉPARTS - Practices for an integrated development of European contemporary dance - 2009-2014

The DÉPARTS network aims to invest in the future of European contemporary dance, taking the project of PARTS as its starting point. The name DÉPARTS stands for ‘start’ in the plural. Two starting points are essential to the career of every young artist: having access to high-quality training facilities and getting support to take the step into the professional art world. To reach these objectives, several European partners are collaborating in a network that is funded by the partners and the European Commission (Programme Culture 2000). A first working period ran from September 2001 until February 2004. A second one-year program ran from April 2004 until March 2005.

Currently, the 4th program is in action, running from 2009 until 2014. Current partners in the network are PARTS (Brussels, Belgium), Alkantara (Lisbon, Portugal), Bimeras (Istanbul, Turkey), CDC Toulouse (Toulouse, France), Forum Dança (Lisbon, Portugal), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin, Germany), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (Ghent, Belgium), PACT Zollverein/ Choreographisches Zentrum NRW (Essen, Germany), Springdance (Utrecht, The Netherlands), Trafo (Budapest, Hungary) Zodiak Center for New Dance (Helsinki, Finland) and MDT (Stockholm, Sweden).
The network is supported by the European Commission, under its Culture programme.
 
DÉPARTS has established a triple program:
 
DÉPARTS #1: Advanced training programs bridging education to professional practices
DÉPARTS creates advanced training and coaching projects for young dancers and choreographers coming from Europe and abroad. The projects connect the participants with active artists as teachers and coaches, and take place outside the regular education systems.
DÉPARTS makes professional dance infrastructure available to young dancers and choreographers who do not have the resources to rent them. The network also provides daily dance training facilities, artistic feedback and a presentation possibility to the selected projects.
 
DÉPARTS #2: Democratic access to a high-level professional training for talented youngsters
DÉPARTS wants to to remove the international barriers facing talented young European dancers and choreographers who have the talent to participate in the training programs of PARTS and DÉPARTS. In a first phase of the selection process, DÉPARTS goes to the local dance communities to attract candidates.
DÉPARTS sets up a student grant system, removing the financial barriers for talented youngsters to participate in the training programs of PARTS and DÉPARTS.
 
DÉPARTS #3: Support for young choreographers
DÉPARTS co-produces works of choreographers who have participated in the training projects of PARTS and DÉPARTS, enabling them to develop their work in professional circumstances and establish themselves in the professional field.
DÉPARTS presents the work of young choreographers in professional circumstances, giving them the opportunity to reach wide and international audiences and building working relationships in the professional dance world.
In order to build the bridge between the DÉPARTS training programs and the professional artistic world, DÉPARTS provides presentation facilities for the current participants of the training programs. This will enable the work they create in the frame of the program to go beyond the status of studio presentations.

The project was finished in April 2014. Over a period of 5 years, the network supported:

- workshops in 10 cities, in which 400 artists worked with more than 4500 young dancers and choreographers

- coaching projects in 5 cities, providing experienced mentors for 196 young artists

- residency facilities in 12 cities for 330 projects

- 68 preselections and 6 final auditions for PARTS and Forum Dança, with more than 2700 participants

- 700.000 euro in scholarships (1-4 years) for 107 individual students of PARTS, Forum Danàa and CDC/Extensions

- the co-production of 73 new choreographies by 43 artists

- 492 presentations of 143 works by 86 choreographers, for an audiecne of more than 40.000 spectators in 10 countries

- 73 presentations of students of PARTS, CDC, Forum Dança and participants of other workshops

 


For more information about the network, visit the website www.departs.eu.

Contact: Steven De Belder, coordinator of the network

 

test

DÉPARTS – Practices for an integrated development of European contemporary dance 2009-2014

Le réseau DÉPARTS a comme objectif d'investir dans l'avenir de la danse contemporaine en Europe, en s'appuyant sur l'initiative PARTS. Le nom DÉPARTS doit donc être compris au sens de « débuts », « démarrages ». Dans la carrière de tout jeune artiste, deux points de départ sont essentiels : la possibilité d'avoir accès à une structure de formation de haut niveau et le fait d'être épaulé en faisant ses premiers pas dans le monde de l'art professionnel. Pour réaliser cet objectif, plusieurs partenaires européens collaborent au sein d'un réseau financé par ces partenaires et par la Commission européenne (programme Culture 2000). La première période d'activité s'étendait de septembre 2001 à février 2004 et la deuxième, d'une durée d'un an, d'avril 2004 à mars 2005, la troisième de 2006 à fin 2009.

A ce moment le quatrième programme est en fonction, et couvre la période 2009-2014. Les partnenaire actuels sont PARTS (Bruxelles, Belgique), Alkantara (Lisbonne, Portugal), Bimeras (Istanbul, Turquie), CDC Toulouse (Toulouse, France), Forum Dança (Lisbonne, Portugal), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin, Allemagne), Centre d'Arts Vooruit (Gand, Belgique), PACT Zollverein/ Choreographisches Zentrum NRW (Essen, Allemagne), Springdance (Utrecht, Pays-Bas), Trafo (Budapest, Hongrie), MDT (Stockholm, Suède) et Zodiak Center for New Dance (Helsinki, Finlande).

Le réseau bénéficie du soutien de la Commission européenne, dans le cadre de son programme Culture.

DÉPARTS a mis au point un programme à trois volets :

DÉPARTS #1 : Programmes de perfectionnement en tant que passerelles entre les formations et la pratique professionnelle
DÉPARTS lance des projets de formation et d'encadrement de haut niveau pour de jeunes danseurs originaires d'Europe et d'ailleurs. Ces initiatives, mettant les participants en contact avec des artistes actifs dans la vie professionnelle, qui leur servent de professeurs et de coachs, se situent en dehors des structures éducatives habituelles.
DÉPARTS met des infrastructures de niveau professionnel à la disposition de jeunes danseurs et chorégraphes ne disposant pas des moyens nécessaires à leur location. Aux jeunes sélectionnés, le réseau fournit aussi des possibilités d'entraînement de danse quotidien, l'encadrement par des artistes et l'occasion de présenter leurs créations.

DÉPARTS #2 : Démocratisation de l'accès aux formations de haut niveau pour les jeunes danseurs et chorégraphes de talent
DÉPARTS souhaite supprimer les obstacles, existant au niveau international, qui empêchent de jeunes danseurs et chorégraphes européens talentueux de prendre part aux programmes de formation de PARTS et DÉPARTS. Lors de la première étape de sélection, les représentants de DÉPARTS se déplacent dans différents pays pour juger les candidats sur place.
DÉPARTS a créé un système de bourses d'études afin d'éliminer les barrières financières empêchant les jeunes talentueux de participer aux programmes de formation de PARTS et DÉPARTS.

DÉPARTS #3 : Assistance aux jeunes chorégraphes
DÉPARTS coproduit les pièces de chorégraphes ayant participé aux programmes de formation mis en place par PARTS et DÉPARTS, afin qu'ils puissent les créer dans des conditions professionnelles et, ainsi, se faire un nom dans le monde professionnel.
DÉPARTS présente les œuvres de jeunes chorégraphes dans un contexte professionnel, ce qui leur permet d'atteindre un large public, également international, et de nouer des relations de travail dans le monde professionnel de la danse.
Afin de combler l'écart entre les programmes de formation DÉPARTS et le monde artistique professionnel, DÉPARTS fournit des possibilités de présentation aux participants actuels des programmes de formation. Leurs œuvres, créées dans le cadre de la formation, peuvent ainsi dépasser le niveau d'une simple présentation en atelier.

Dans la période 2009-2014, DEPARTS a organisé:

- des ateliers dans 10 villes, avec 400 artistses et plus de 4500 jeunes danseurs et chorégraphes

- des projets de coaching pour 195 artistes

- des résidences pour 330 projets

- 68 auditions et 6 auditions finales pour PARTs et Forum Dança, avec plus de 2700 participants

- 700.000 euros en bourses d'études (d'un à quatre ans) pour 107 étudiants de PARTs, Forum Dança et Extensions/CDC

- la co-productions de 73 nouveaux travaux de 43 chorégraphes issues de PARTs, Forum Dança, Extensions et autres

- 492 présentations de 143 pièces de 86 chorégraphes, pour un public de plus de 40.000 personnes en 10 pays européens

- 73 présentations des oeuvres des étudiants de PARTs, Forum Dança et Extensions/CDC


Pour plus de renseignements concernant DÉPARTS, visitez le site www.departs.eu

Contact: Steven De Belder, coordinateur du réseau 

.

test